Clock Crew

Community => Flash & Flash Accessories => Topic farted by: GreyClock on July 25, 2017, 01:42:14 PM

Title: Is this possible in FLASH?
Post by: GreyClock on July 25, 2017, 01:42:14 PM
I designed a character for a FLASH MOVIE and I want him moving around quite a bit. It has a number of internal loops that would skip/jump if I add keyframes to it in the main timeline (unless I put the whole thing inside one huge tween, but that has certain drawbacks). Another option would be to put all the relevant dialog sound clips inside the character movie clip (but that also has its drawbacks). The main problem is the adding of an animated mouth. If the character is animated within a movie clip, you can't see where the mouth should be. In the past I used to place it somewhere in the general area and that was fine, but a lot of work. I'm thinking there might be an easier way to do this. What would be really helpful, is if I could put (spitballing here) a 1x1 pixel dot with an instance name inside the character movie clip at the "mouth" and have a seperate movie clip with the mouth animation that, using actionscript, would identify the location of the dot and place itself there or something. Is something like that possible and if so how?
Title: Re: Is this possible in FLASH?
Post by: Slurpee on July 25, 2017, 05:34:11 PM
I might be misunderstanding, but have you tried using Graphic instead of MovieClip?
this blew my mind when I found out but Graphic objects aren't static- they still play subsequent frames from their timeline, and even better it displays on the parent timeline (e.g. if you have a five frame graphic object starting on the first frame of the main timeline, when you go to the second frame of the main timeline the graphic object will display as the second frame of the graphic's timeline- which it will also export as). they even have options to start on a different frame (in case you change up the key frames) and I believe even change the looping without having to delve into actionscript

I have no idea why we were so in love in movieclips back in the day, graphic owns bones
Title: Re: Is this possible in FLASH?
Post by: GreyClock on July 25, 2017, 06:07:22 PM
That's a good idea, I'll try it out. I had to google the difference between movie clips and graphics just now. I've always use(d) movie clips for everything, I guess because it was the top choice in the little menu and I just stuck with it. A lot of the annoyances I've had over the years with movie clips probably could've been solved by using graphics. Live and learn.
Title: Re: Is this possible in FLASH?
Post by: SpinningCubeClock on August 15, 2017, 04:18:17 AM
Quote from: Slurpee on July 25, 2017, 05:34:11 PM
I might be misunderstanding, but have you tried using Graphic instead of MovieClip?
this blew my mind when I found out but Graphic objects aren't static- they still play subsequent frames from their timeline, and even better it displays on the parent timeline (e.g. if you have a five frame graphic object starting on the first frame of the main timeline, when you go to the second frame of the main timeline the graphic object will display as the second frame of the graphic's timeline- which it will also export as). they even have options to start on a different frame (in case you change up the key frames) and I believe even change the looping without having to delve into actionscript

I have no idea why we were so in love in movieclips back in the day, graphic owns bones
Yeah so I only found this out maybe 2 years ago too. Movieclips are the worst things ever unless you're doing coding ie. making games or interactive things. Why was everyone so clueless about how great graphics are holy crap
Title: Re: Is this possible in FLASH?
Post by: Topcatyo on August 17, 2017, 08:40:55 PM
Graphics are dope for doing things that need specific timing, but the timeline can very easily fuck them up.
Movie clips are great if you want something just sorta animating regardless of timing.  They're also good for having an object that you want to animate around but you're probably going to change the graphics of it later.

I found this all out after I pretty much stopped using flash.